Admission to Practice Law Based on Motion
Written by Norton Gappy   
Each state bar assocation has promulagted rules for out of state attorneys to gain admission to a local bar based on Admission by Motion.  Legalnut.com has compiled Admission by Motion details by state.

 State

Number of Years of Practice

Required for Admission

based on Motion 

Admission on Motion fee 

 Alabama

5 of past 6

$900

Alaska

5 of past 7

$1,500

 Arizona

N/A

$0

 Arkansas

5 of past 7

$1,500

 California

N/A

$0

 Colorado

5 of past 7

$800

 Connecticut

5 of past 7

$1,000

Dist. of Columbia 

None

$0

  Florida

N/A

$400

Georgia

5 of past 7

$500

 Hawaii

N/A

$0

Idaho

3 of past 5

$800

Illinois

5 of past 7

$800

Indiana

5 of past 7

$800

Iowa

5 of past 7

$575

Kansas

5 of past 7

$1,250

Kentucky

5 of past 7

$1,200

Louisana

N/A

$0

Maine

3 of past 5

$850

Maryland

N/A

$0

Massachusetts

5

$1,015

Michigan

3 of past 5

$600

Minnesota

5 of past 78

$950

Mississippi

N/A

$0

Missouri

5 of past 7

$800

Montana

N/A

$0

Nebraska

Varies

$700-$950

Nevada

N/A

$0

New Hampshire

5 of past 7

$750

New Jersey

N/A

$0

New Mexico

N/A

$0

New York

5 of past 7

$400

North Carolina

4 of past 6

$1,500

North Dakota

4 of past 5

$400

Ohio

5 of past 10

$1,250

Oklahoma

5 of past 7

$1,500

Oregon

3 of past 4

$525 +$225

Pennsylvania

5 of past 7

$1,000

Rhode Island

N/A

$0

South Carolina

N/A

$400

South Dakota

Past 5

$450

Tennessee

5 of past 7

$800

Texas

5 of past 7

$850

Utah

Varies

$625

Vermont

5 of past 10

$600

Virigina

5 of past 7

$1,500

Washington

Varies

$735 - $985

West Virginia

5 of past 7

$1,000

Wisconsin

Varies

$850

Wyoming

5 of past 7

$450